Wednesday, September 9, 2009

Enter The Beatles 14-CD Giveaway Contest!

All About Jazz members are invited to enter The Beatles remastered and rediscovered CD giveaway contest starting today. 7 winners will receive 2 of the 14 CDs listed below. We'll announce the winners on October 10th.

Click here to enter the contest

(Following The Beatles at AAJ automatically enters you in the contest.)

Good luck!
Your Friends at EMI Music

The Beatles' Entire Original Recorded Catalogue Remastered
By Apple Corps Ltd. and EMI Music Will Be Available September 9

The Beatles' Apple Corps Ltd. and EMI Music have announced the release of the original Beatles catalogue, which has been digitally remastered for the first time, for worldwide CD release on September 9, the same date as the release of the widely anticipated The Beatles: Rock Band video game. Each of the CDs is packaged with replicated original U.K. album art, including expanded booklets containing original and newly written liner notes and rare photos. For a limited period, each CD will also be embedded with a brief documentary film about the album. On the same date, two new Beatles boxed CD collections will also be released.

The albums have been remastered by a dedicated team of engineers at EMI's Abbey Road Studios in London over a four year period utilizing state of the art recording technology alongside vintage studio equipment, carefully maintaining the authenticity and integrity of the original analogue recordings. The result of this painstaking process is the highest fidelity the catalogue has seen since its original release.

This will mark the first time that the first four Beatles albums will be available in stereo in their entirety on compact disc. The 14 albums, along with a DVD collection of the documentaries, will also be available for purchase together in a stereo boxed set.

Within each CD's new packaging, booklets include detailed historical notes along with informative recording notes. With the exception of the Past Masters' set, newly produced mini-documentaries on the making of each album, directed by Bob Smeaton, are included as QuickTime files on each album. The documentaries contain archival footage, rare photographs and never-before-heard studio chat from The Beatles, offering a unique and very personal insight into the studio atmosphere.

A second boxed set has been created with the collector in mind. The Beatles in Mono gathers together, in one place, all of The Beatles recordings that were mixed for a mono release. It will contain 10 of the albums with their original mono mixes, plus two further discs of mono masters (covering similar ground to the stereo tracks on Past Masters). As an added bonus, the mono Help! and Rubber Soul discs also include the original 1965 stereo mixes, which have not been previously released on CD. These albums will be packaged in mini-vinyl CD replicas of the original sleeves with all original inserts and label designs retained.

Remastered Releases

  1. Please Please Me (CD debut in stereo)
  2. With The Beatles (CD debut in stereo)
  3. A Hard Day's Night (CD debut in stereo)
  4. Beatles For Sale (CD debut in stereo)
  5. Help!
  6. Rubber Soul
  7. Revolver
  8. Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band
  9. Magical Mystery Tour
  10. The Beatles
  11. Yellow Submarine
  12. Abbey Road
  13. Let It Be
  14. Past Masters

No comments:

Post a Comment